Start with out help?

Ok so i am new and i am getting better at just riding but i want to start to ride with out haveing to get my balance on something how do i do that? I have seen on videos of people hopping to keep balance i think should i do that or do i need to just keep trying and it will justy come to me?

Just don’t think about it. If your start leaning in a direction and are (or you think you are) going to fall turn that way to compensate. To free mount just stick the uni in front of you and put your foot on the pedal. Put a little bit of pressure (almost as if you were stepping on top of a traffic cone and didn’t want to crush it).

Hope that helps somewhat.

Mounting without anything to hold on to is called freemounting. Do a search for threads with “freemount” in the title and you will find loads of tips.

Kurt

I am just starting to learn by myself. I have 9 hours so far and have managed a few runs where I have gone 12 - 14 full turns of the wheel before falling off (usually only 3 - 5 full turns). Some things that seem to have helped so far…
Keeping my head up and looking at the horizon rather than the pavement seems to help me keep my body upright and balance through my hips.
Having the courage to lean my weight back slightly when I can’t pedal fast enough to keep the wheel under me.
I try to free mount every go, but I do it beside something, and usually have to reach out and steady myself before going for it, but sometimes I manage to just go. Hopefully that will help me to be able to free mount as I get better.
Susan

I am also new and learning and am finally getting it (after 30 hours), what really helped me was thinking of twisting instead of turning. And don’t just twist when you feel yourself falling but twist with each pedal stroke. This is what really helped me and as I have gotten better I twist less, but at first I was doing a big twist each stroke.