Spray Painting uni

I’ve spray painted my unicycle for a few times now,
but the paint always comes of after a short while.

Do I need to use a specific kind of paint?

powder Coating is very strong and durable, but can be as high as $75 for a frame. Try using a lot of clear coat, if you are already using it, an start if you havent.

i’m a complete newbie about this,
what is it and where can I get it :slight_smile:

Do you mean a powdercoat? look up Powdercoating shops in the yellow pages. I think and average powercoat costs a about $65, but you will never have to paint your uni again.
Or do you mean claercoat? You can get that in the spray paint isle. all it is is clear spraypaint, but when apllied in 3+ coats it makes a good barrier.

I can’t really look 'em up cause I have no idea what it is in dutch :slight_smile: Since I live in Belgium

Last time I put on 3 caots of spray paint, but alas, Didn’t last very long

I’ll never paint another unicycle after experiencing powdercoating. Darren Bedford had my beloved Summit powdercoated last year and after hours upon hours of abuse the finish is still near perfect! Powdercoating is BY-FAR the way to go!

Tommy

You cannot have any chrome or shiny surfaces on the frame. Slight sanding of the chrome will not work. The paint won’t stick to chrome. I sand blasted one of my frames to take off the chrome, put 1 base coat, 3 coats of red, and 2 coats of clear and it is holding up fine.

Powdercoat is awesome, but it’s expensive if someone else does it for you. Luckily, I have a powdercoating machine and oven :smiley:

Another thing to remember about painting your uni is that a few light coats of paint are better than one thick coat.

*Give your frame a light sanding,
*hang it up somewhere that is well ventelated and not too windy.
*spray many light coats of paint untill your happy with the way it looks. Then give it one more for good measure. (wait for each coat to dry before going with the next one.)