Sore knees from hopping

I’ve been riding for about 4 months now. When I first rode trails, my knees would get pretty sore. I’ve since learned to relax more and put less weight on my legs. Things have gotten better.

But now I’m practicing hopping, and my knees are getting sore again. This time the soreness is on the back of my knees. In my “knee pits”. It seems to go away after a few days.

I think it feels more like a sore muscle than an injury.
Did anyone else every get this? Do you think it’s more serious than just a sore muscle?

After Gymnastics, Martial arts, and Triathlon, I thought I’d had just about ever stress injury you can have, but not that one. I even got a stress injury in my elbow from playing guitar and had stop playing for a few months and then had to learn how to hold the guitar a different way.

There is a Posterior Cruiciate Ligament behind the Knee, but not much in the way of muscles. I suggest stop hopping practice for a few days to a week and wait for the soreness to go away (I suggest waiting until all soreness is gone) and Ice that area down a few times a day. A bag of frozen peas works great for this. If you are watching TV or something do 20mins on and 20mins off. The more you ice the faster it gets better if it is just an over-use strain. The PCL is primarily used to stabilize the knee which is exactly what you are doing when you hop.

I’m not a ‘hopper’ but I’m sure some hoppers will come by with some technique advice.

I also want to add that if you don’t already you might want to consider adding some stretching for your Quads, Hamstrings and Calves. Muscle imbalance could be contributing to this injury/soreness.

when i started learning to unicycle, i played uni-hockey for hours … my knees were always extremely sore. now i do some hard on the knees stuff, but it doesnt hurt anymore. i think you will just get used to it