some new questions

So hello there!
First of all I’m new to this site.
Secondly I have several beginer questions about learning.
I have been doing this for about 6 months on and off and just wanted some pointers.
What are the best ways to master the self start or starting without leaning on a wall?
How do you start hopping?
What are the best ways to begin stalling?
How do you go down curbs?
And finaly any tips for ridding long distances on your unicycle?

Thank you for your time.

here is a good website for beginner tips

http://www.unicycling.net/index.htm

it should have every thing you need to know

ps. Welcome to Unicyclist!!:smiley:

Welcome to the forum. A popular reply to a post like this seems to go something along the lines of “use the search function.” I know that sometimes it is hard to know just what to search for and so it’s not always the most helpful. After you are on the forum for a while you get a better feel for how to do better searches.

Here are some vid’s that I found when I was first starting. I haven’t watched them in a long time, so they might not be as good as I remember, but they seemed to help at the time.

I can’t really comment on the long distance question as I have a four mile commute that is pretty much the bar for me right now.

Free mounting came pretty naturally after I really became comfortable riding without a lot of unplanned dismounts (UPD’s).

Stalling/Idling:

Hopping:

Dropping off a curb:

Yes, the Search Function will yield a wealth of information. There are not really “new” questions. In a nutshell, stay over the wheel and you’ll be fine.:slight_smile:

As for learning to ride: you might learn faster if you don’t use a wall to cling on to. Just hold on to something to start out, then see how far you get.

I’ll throw some info at you.

So hello there!
Hi.

First of all I’m new to this site.