Soda Can Shim?

I want to put the Viscount that came on my Summit, which now has a Miyata courtesy of a Stealth Torker, on the Stealth Torker which lost it’s seat to the Summit. Obviously, the Summit post won’t fit on the Black Torker frame, but I have a Chrome Torker post which will fit the Black Torker (with a shim).

I know I could buy a shim to make it fit, but who wants to spend money on that. Not I. The only option (that I know of) is to soda can shim it. I have never done this before, so I want your input. What kind of can, how wide a shim, etc.

Also, I was wondering what you think about the United Saddles. I won’t be using it, but I was going to lend out a few of my uni’s once I get seats on them. Unicycle.com has the Uniteds at 3 for $19.

Thanks for the advise I know is coming.
Daniel

the united seats are ok, fine for learning on.they dont last a whole long time though. the bumpers fall off faster than you can say viscount.

But wait, the seatpost from the stealth torker fits into the summit but not the other way around? how does that work?

Well, for the Summit, I sprung the $10 for a proper shim. I think that was worth it, but I didn’t want to spend another 10 for aother shim.

Daniel

The quality might vary a bit. On my first cheapy uni, which now has been used to teach three people to ride, the bumpers are still on. A lot of wear but they are still well attached. On my second uni there also was a united saddle, but I changed it to KH a while ago. The seat didn’t take as much bashing as the other and it also holds up well.

I think they are great saddles for beginners. They are comfy enough and durable. But don’t consider riding longer distances than two miles on these.

That 3 for 19$ seems to be a really good offer. So, if you need the saddles just buy them.

Still want to know the answer

Sorry to bring this thread back up, but I still want to know the answer to the question about the soda can shim.