Should I get this old Schwinn?

Here is the URL to the uni, http://cgi.ebay.com/Vintage-Schwinn-Unicycle-20-Made-USA-/220812508169?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3369737c09#ht_500wt_1287.

I’ve never ridden a unicycle before and was looking for a starter unicycle. The thing is, this is in my area, so I wouldn’t have to pay shipping. My concern is I want it to ride around town in but it’s a 20" uni. Also, is it worth it monetarily? Basically, if you were a total newbie, would you get this as your first cycle?

As a non rider you might be better off purchasing something a bit newer to learn on. The old schwinn’s were the cadilacs back in their day however a number of advancements have been made since the late 60’s & early 70’s of which that unit came from.

Check out Unicycle.com and get an idea of whats out there. You should probably be able to pick up something from them at a very reasonable price (including shipping) Depending on your height you might also be best with a24" uni if you have plans to do a bit of short distance communting.

If you’re a newbie, I would not recommend it. Newer uni’s are easier to learn on, with better components and more comfortable seats. What is your budget?

Honestly, I have what might be an unrealistically low budget of $50-80 I was looking at this as well. But I have one further question which is, I’m only 5’5", is a 24" wheel too big for me? Would a 20" serve just as well?

Well, I believe that if you’re going to learn something, do it the right way. Starting with a crappy uni is no good. If you were starting to learn piano would you want one that all the keys didn’t work?