Shorter 36 Cranks

I’ve been riding my Oracle 36 for 6 years now and I love it every time I get on it. Riding dual hole 150/127 cranks. I’m very rarely ride the 150 hole and really do very minimal off road with this unicycle. If I do, it’s mainly cross-country, fire trails and the like, and I use the one 127 holes. I live in a pretty hilly area and I can get up almost any Hill except perhaps the longest, steepest hill. I’m looking into trying something a bit shorter. I’m thinking the 110/127 or the 117/137. Maybe the 117, as perhaps I could use the extra leverage over the 110s given the hills around me. The 137s give me a bit extra leverage in case I want to do more off-road stuff…but again I rarely do that apart from fire roads… Advice?

I’ve only used 127mm on my 36" and it works for me. The maximum hills I can ride is about 18% but mostly pretty flat riding.

I like this chart:

I am riding 125 also on the oracle. I would be curious to try 117/137 crank but its hard to justify having more cranks than unicycle.

According to your signature, you own a pair of 110/127 mm cranks. I’d try putting them on the 36", and then you can decide wether you would prefer a bit longer ones or not.

I don’t think it’s hard to justify more cranks than unicycles btw. Cranks are a cheap way to change your setup.

Used 125mm on my 36er for an absolute age - this was for commuting, long distance rides, and gravel grinder type not-quite-off-road stuff. For me it’s a brilliant all-rounder.

I’ve also used 114 and 100mm - both are pretty awesome but a lot more limited to more ‘traditional’ road riding (though I can pretty much climb the same on the 114’s as the 125’s if I’m warmed up!)

Also consider that I’m on a Qu-Ax 36er with 48 spokes, a full-thickness 36er butyl tube, and the TA tyre - With a 36 holed Nightrider rim with the new Lite 36er tyre and the lighter Vee tube (or a stretched 29er/blue thingy tube) you’ll probably fare even better with short cranks.