Short cranks for trials?

I put the original 138mm cranks back on my sort-of trials unicycle (KH20FL rim with the fattest possible tire), removing the 110mm cranks that I had been using since I was a beginner, almost two years ago. This was a question that emerged from hijacking a beginner thread, so I decided to be polite and post it here.

Anyway, 138s give a very different feeling. Other than being slower for transportation, though, it’s hard to say yet what the concrete differences are. My rolling hops are still about 2’ maximum on level ground, one-footed riding might be a tiny bit easier, though it wasn’t at first. Hopping up and down the stairs is about the same, riding down some gentle steps is actually a little more difficult now because of the unfamiliar feeling and the seemingly higher seat. Clearly, these longer cranks will take some getting used to before I can say for sure if they are better for trials riding. All serious trials riders, I know, use long cranks, but I am so used to short ones, and they are so much better for riding the 5 blocks or so to the stairs that I use…

It’s funny how that works. It is almost always harder to do things with short cranks when you are used to long cranks but not necessarily any easier to use the long cranks when you are used to short. In my experience this holds true across many disciplines.

I barely ever ride my trials but I have holes drilled at 112mm in my 137mm Moments. I really like the shorter setting for basically everything I do except trying to “ride” on rocks.

The one obvious advantage I felt with longer cranks was being able to reset the pedals back to level after I landed while hopping in place or riding over a little drop-off. If I come down a little bit off balance, the leverage definitely helps for getting the wheel back under me while stalled. Other than that, most things were on the one hand/on the other hand.