Seat post length

Hello, I’m new here and I have a question about seat posts, but first I’ll introduce myself. I’m Rockey, and I’ve been unicycling for about 2 months. I learned how to ride in my gym class, and I was hooked. I got a Schwinn 24 inch about a month ago, and have been riding a lot despite the cold weather (I live in Illinois). I think I’m about up to level 3, since I can jump mount, roll mount, hop up curbs, etc. I’m working on idling and riding backwards right now.
Anyways, my question is if I stand 5’11 to 6 feet, should I get a 400 mm seat post? I bought my Schwinn at a bike shop and I’m pretty sure it has a 300 mm post which fits me fine on the highest setting. However, I’m letting a lot of other people, like my dad, who are over 6 feet use my uni. And I want to know if I get a 400 mm seat post will it fit someone a little under 6 feet? Or is the lowest setting for someone 6 feet?

Seat post length

Welcome, Rockey!

Traditional Schwinn seatposts are 8 1/2"/220mm or 14"/350mm. The 300 & 400 Semcycle posts also work so first you need to confirm what you have.

I am 5’10" with a 32" inseam. I found the 8 1/2 post too short and do most of my riding with the 14" at the lowest setting. The 14" should work fine for inseams from 32 - 36.

They are all at uni.com http://www.unicycle.com/shopping/shopdisplayproducts.asp?id=2&subcat=78&cat=Seat+Posts+-+Traditional&L2=Seat+Posts%2C+Clamps+%26+Components&L3=Seat+Posts+-+Traditional

Here’s the next 1000 words…

uni012503 002.jpg

Welcome!

I have a Semcycle Deluxe 20" and I have the 300 and 400 mm seat posts.

People are of different proportions – for example, UniBrier said he is 5’ 10" with a 32" inseam. I am taller at 6’ 0" but I also have a 32" inseam.

So, it depends on the person…