Schlumf durability

Hey guys,
I am new to the site and first off want to just say hi to everyone here.

I have finally convinced my parents to buy me a new unicycle and they have agreed to get me a schlumf for christmas.

I was curious how durable it was? Can it take a fair amount of a beating out on the trails or should i stray away from it if I will be doing technical muni stuff?

i am getting a kris holm 24 and want to put the schlumf on it so i can ride both technical stuff and more distance stuff too.

wow- your parents are cool to fork out that much money for a christmas present? You are a lucky guy/gal.

I have no experience with the schlumpf as of yet but the ride you are describing is what i am saving for next year (hopefully in time for Unicon!). I have been asking around for advice as well- an this is what i have gathered so far. Turtle (a guy on the forums) has a KH24" shlumpf but switches out the wheel to a regular ISIS/moment set up when doing tech muni. Aparrently it is fairly easy to accidentally change gears when things get a bit gnarly and your feet shift on the pedals. For XC and lighter muni though i think it all works out really well.

The thing about the schlumpf that gets me though is that after spending a years worth of savings on it, i’m not sure how close to the limit i would want to test it. KH says it is good for drops up to 1.5m, and he did all the testing for it so i trust his judgement. I get the feeling i would be a little more precious about a wheel with a schlumpf in it than i would, say, your regular ISIS/Moment wheel which is simple, cheap and bombproof. You might also want to consider the extra weight it will add to the wheel…

anyway, i hope that helps. If you do end up getting the whole setup write a decent review of it for the forums because i havn’t seen one yet for a 24" KH/schlumpf

mark

Kris says 4 or 5 foot drops are okay. So basically, yes it’ll be fine.