Riding with "Marge", she's so large :)

So I’ve been riding a 26" muni for a few years now, got me a Duro Leopard, worked okay, no real complaints. So I was watching Terry (muni addict) in one of his videos and I noticed that he was riding a 3" tire on a Large Marge rim, so I asked him about it. He told me that he really likes the ride, seems to spread out the tire better and make it more stable, esp for drops.

So I though about this for a while, then a couple months back I made a rim swap with another poster (Jacob), laced her up, and remounted the Leopard. I’d been riding my 29er a bunch, so I didn’t have enough time with “Marge” to really gain any appreciation for how nice she rides. So now, after getting back on the 26" more I have really seen a significant difference in the stability, fewer UPDs, more endurance (working less), and better stability through technical stuff.

So, if you’re game, the LM rim comes in 24 and 26, DGH version is heavier, freeride version is lighter due to machining, but still plenty strong. All you do to swap rims is line up the holes, correct sides in/out, then zip tie them together, release the spoke tension on the old rim, then start swapping spokes. I like to put a dab of chain lube on the spoke heads to make them move better when truing.

“Marge” will make you a superhero :slight_smile:

I’ve been riding a 26" Marge DGH on a Duro since last November and I can really tell a difference in stability. My only regret is that I didn’t pick up a 26" Conundrum frame while they were still available. I’d really like to pair her with a Larry because I think an extra large volume tire would suit me well. I am hopefull that the new prototype frame that UDC is testing will go into production.

So add another vote to “Marge can make you a super hero!”