Riding the 'pendulum'

I graduated recently to a 36er from a 24” that I learnt on. The 36er has been a bigger learning-curve than I expected although I am satisfied with my progress. However, one issue is pretty persistent so instead of words I have added some images of my issue and hoped I could get some feedback.

The problem is, when riding the unicycle I get a frequent pendulum-effect with the seat rocking backwards and forwards. In effect my forward speed is continually being hampered by the tendency for the seat tube to pendulum backwards – and thus slow me up. OK, I understand this as a ‘balancing-act’ but the frustrating part is not having any references to help me decide how to adjust the seat other than trial-and-error.

Well, I have tried trial-and-error for hours and all I have learnt is there are an infinite number of position and permutations of the seat position. Apart from the extreme settings I don’t really sense any positions that are better or worse. I simply find myself compensating through riding style for any new position.

So, instead of spending much more time on the road with an Allen key perhaps someone could check out my photos and give me an opinion of the three different seat positions shown. Even if it is trial-and-error maybe comments could be made on the photo?

PHOTO1
PHOTO2
PHOTO3

The other three things I am aware of is sitting up straight, sinking the weight and tyre pressure. I adjusted the Nightrider tyre from 55 psi to 45psi and found some difference. At 55 psi it was kind of ‘skittish’ and very responsive (hard tyre). I reasoned I had to ‘soften’ this by flattening the tyre by taking a little air out of it. It seemed to help as the wheel became a little bit more ‘sticky’ on the road as the footprint had increased.

1 Like

Personally, my seat angle would be close to what you have in photo 3, but the seat would be further forward on the rails. But it is a very personal thing.