Riding geared through water and 36er karma

So I decided to have my geared hub put into a 29er again instead of the 36er I was running. I got my wheel built yesterday and set up the uni last night, so I was excited to ride to work with it, unfortunately it was raining this morning and I took the usual route to work down the bike path that follows a creek. Little did I know (since I am new to Denver in the spring) that the creek trail floods like crazy! I found myself riding through over a foot of water and getting my shoes soaked. I saw another biker ride and then turn back after seeing the flooded trail, but I pushed on because I’m stupid.

Anyway, I think that this is karma for taking apart my geared 36er, because I would have been higher up off the ground and may have possibly not got my shoes wet if I was still on the geared 36er.

I’ve never really soaked a uni before, but should I worry about drying off some of the components when I get home? As in…taking off my cranks and frame and making sure there is no water in there? Lucky for me I still havent added my schlumpf oil to the hub, I was planning on doing that tonight, so I’m not really worried about that. Just more curious if I should worry about the crank/isis axle connection and if it is worth taking off cranks to dry/regrease that connection?

Interesting ride in for sure, going to walk around the office without shoes for the rest of the day.

I envy you for having a geared hub. Never seen one myself, but I would have filled it with oil like the OEM said before riding it.

The OEM surely greased the cranks before putting them on. I write OEM because spelling Shlumpf-KH is something we should short hand.