Riding Backwards?

I’ve advanced to the level where I can go up and down fairly steep and long hills, stop for about a second and then get going again (though I can’t idle yet), I can’t do jumps and stuff, I’m practicing stopping with my pedals parallel to the ground to do that kind of stuff. My question is this: where do I go from here? I can ride forward as far as I want to, what’s the next step? Going backwards? If so, how do I start learning that? Thanks, I’m new to this kind of thing, just a few weeks since I bought my first uni (20" Sun. Not a very good one, but I’m looking at upgrading on eBay).

you dont have to go anywhere if you really want to go a certain way then use the unicyling levels http://www.unicycling.org/iuf/levels/ but what i recommend is just pregress by doing the trick YOU want to do dont follow somebody unicyling is mostly a individual sport and you progress how you want and at what extend of time you want to spend. so i say just practice what you want to learn there is no guide of WHAT you have to follow to be a unicyclist :slight_smile:

Wow, I can’t even consider myself level 2, I can’t mount left-footed. What would the advantages of being able to use both feet be? I think I’m going to try to stop with horizontal pedals, I was really just asking where to go, because I was kind of stuck :wink: I’m off to uni, I’ll be back in a few :slight_smile:

Learning to ride backwards and learning to idle are closely related. Sometimes it helps to learn to “super idle” before trying either. To “super idle” you rotate the pedals a full revolution backwards and then a full revolution forwards. It is much more stable than idling, in which the pedals are rotated less than a half revolution either direction, and much less scary than riding backwards. There is lots of room for correction making.