Rider in Rochester, NY

Hi, I’m Opal. I’m from Rochester, New York.

I’ve been unicycling for a little under five years now. I picked it up after meeting my current partner, who is an avid bicyclist. I decided I wanted to get in shape just so I could keep up! Unfortunately, my apartment at the time was pretty cramped, and it was going to be difficult to fit a bicycle in there. A 24-inch unicycle, though, fit just fine! (We’ve since moved in together, and we have room in our garage for all our cycling stuff).

I spend most my time on my 36; I’m primarily interested in riding long-distance and commuting. I do lots of rides along the Erie Canal Heritage Trail nearby, and occasional trips around the Finger Lakes region. I’ve taken a few longer trips (broken into 20-30 mile days): one from Trenton NJ to NYC, and another that took me from Ocean City, MD to Baltimore, MD by way of Wilmington, DE. In 2020, I planned a trip along the lines of Rochester, NY → Buffalo, NY → Fort Erie, ON → Niagara Falls, ON → Niagara Falls, NY → Rochester, NY, but that got nixed due to COVID. Hopefully soon!

2 Likes

Hi Opal! I started riding a year ago and I’m moving to Rochester in summer, let’s definitely meet up then. I have a soft spot for gravel muni, but I do a mix of single track and cycling paths.

Largest wheel I have is a 29 muni, and with that I can ride 10-12 miles in one go, though I spend most of my time on the 27.5. I’d love to explore the Empire State Trail and Erie Canal after I settle in.

I have been looking at the Errie canal heritage trail for a bike trip this year with a friend. We did the Great Allegheny passage last spring and I’m looking to do something different. Is this a trail you would recommend for a multiple day trip?