Re: Uni weight

“Cubby01” <cubby01@lycos.com> wrote …
> <insert standard newbie disclaimer here>
>
> How much does frame weight, wheel weight, seat weight effect things. Can a
> uni be “top heavy”? Does the mass of a steel rim and fat tire make things
> feel less responsive? Or does any of this matter.
>

<yes, I’m replying to my own post>

A quick google search in the r.s.u provides most of the answers to the
above.
(I really should know better. :slight_smile: I’m a uni newbie not a usenet
newbie.)

What I want to know now is this. Assuming adequate strength can any
of these uni parts (or as a whole uni) ever be too light.

-Cubby

Re: Uni weight

On 6 Aug 2003 06:11:20 -0700, cubby01@lycos.com (Cubby01) wrote:

>What I want to know now is this. Assuming adequate strength can any
>of these uni parts (or as a whole uni) ever be too light.

If the uni as a whole has a lower density than air, it will rise like
a helium balloon. More seriously, generally lighter is better. Most
MUnis float when dropped in a lake (because of the big tyre) which is
nice in case of certain wipeouts.

One possible exception: wheel mass on a Coker. Some Cokerists have
written positively about the ‘flywheel’ effect of their beast. Part of
that will be in the wheel mass (but another part in the translation*
moment which is proportional to overall mass including rider;
translation* gets converted to wheel rotation given enough friction).

*translation moment: I mean the moment of a mass moving linearly. Is
that the correct term for the counterpart of rotational moment? In
Dutch it is…

Klaas Bil - Newsgroup Addict

“the helmet is to protect the brain, not replace it. - iunicycle”

Close Klaas, I think the English equivalent for the word you are looking for is momentum. The English version of moment also has similar meanings for Physics and statistics but are not used as commonly in that context.