re: recommendation needed for 8 year old please

My 7-year old son desperately wants a unicycle for his upcoming 8th birthday. I have no knowledge about unicycles and am hoping for some guidance here. He’s a very athletic kid and while I don’t want to spend a fortune, I do want a quality unicycle that is relatively easy to learn on (if that’s possible!) and is going to last for a while. Do any of you with unicycling experience have any recommendations for me. Thanks so much!

Check out unicycle.com they well have the best support and selection
i would look into this one:
http://www.unicycle.com/shopping/shopexd.asp?id=702

or sometimes your local bike shop will have beginner ones. But check out unicycle.com

Yes, usually bike shops can order them, thus making it cheaper( you wont have to pay shipping)

But otherwise, unicycle.com

Torker is a good brand, either the Torker ‘CX’ or 'LX would make a good cheap starter unicycle.

I personally think the Sun 18 would be a terrible choice because for one it’s very weak, second it’s too small to last very long, and third it has the less prefered round-crown frame. I VERY highly recommend THIS unicycle because it will last for many many years, and you will never need to get a bigger one unless he wants to do distance riding. That uni is great for freestyle (regular circus/street performer/non-jumping/non-offroad skills) and as long as he never wanted to jump off of things or go off road really hard, he would almost never have to upgrade unless it just finally wore out after many years. Get it, you won’t be sorry! :slight_smile:

:slight_smile: Tyler The FreesTyler :slight_smile:

umm… unless the kid’s a really, really tall eight year old, i don’t know if a 20" would be the best choice… i mean, how tall is he?

Me too. The LX would be a great choice.

About the 20" size, I’ve seen several 6 to 8-9 years olds ride a 20" LX. Unless he’s really short, I 'm sure a 20" would be fine.