Rail Riding/Stillstand

Rail riding - how the hell do you manage to stay in a still stand that long? I have no problem riding a skiny about 3 or 4 inches wide, but I go relatively fast, so there’s that wheel holding you upright… Whenever I try to ride on the 1.5" side of a 2x4, I can’t get any farther than about two feet and I lose the stillstand.

I’ve been practicing for weeks now, and havn’t seen any improvement. How have all of you gone about developing this skill?

I can only sit in a still stand for about 5 seconds max… I know this isn’t the easiest thing to do, but I can’t figure out why I’m not improving.

Dave

practice practice practice. not like i can ride uber small rails but i can hold my own with the group i ride with.

though I’m not good at this either, I think it’s very important to make use of your hands a lot.

Use your hands like a balance stick (if that’s the right word for the stick that guys on the ropes in the circus use), and don’t hold your hands as if you were ‘just’ riding.

that’s just what came to my mind.

I think it’s probably worth having a closer look at how your whole body is moving. Maybe experiment with having both hands out wide, or one on the seat, or arms up high, or low.

I made a little video tutorial on rail riding which can be found at www.unicycle.2ya.com . It may help a little.

I would absolutely love to see Dustin Kelm rail riding. With a 5 minute stillstand he’d be a machine on rails! I can only stillstand 5 seconds or so on average with the odd 10 or 15 second run, but when I’m up on rails I seem to be able ot do a little better, and the wheel isn’t moving all that much side to side (it can’t afford to on the narrow round ones).

There’s about 2min20sec or rail riding in my movie (see my signature) if you’re interested.