Quick question for trials rider

Okay so as you all know (probably not), I have a crappy Torker Lx. Thankfully, my birthday is coming up and I will have my sexy Nimbus trials! or maybe a Kh. Anyways right now ive been practicing my hops and it seems that my max height was 13 inches. Does the unicycle really make a difference in jump? Oh, and i decided to cut my post down because i thought it would help me hop higher. Is this true? because i tried again and i got around the same height again. Shouldnt i be able to get a higher hop because there is more room to pull up? Thanks for answering my questions in advance i know im a noob :smiley:

I’ll put this at the top in case my post is too long… short answer: Don’t worry about your unicycle unless it’s broken. Just keep practicing.

The answer to that question is hotly debated on these forums, so let me give you both sides of the issue quickly:

On the “yes” side is the argument that a lighter unicycle places less load on the body, allowing for a bit more height with each hop in the short term, and higher hops in the long term as it doesn’t fatigue the rider as quickly.

On the “no” side is the argument that one’s hopping technique will make much more difference in the height they achieve than a 10% reduction in unicycle weight. This has been illustrated by several skilled trials riders: given any unicycle (even 24"ers), they are able to achieve roughly the same hop heights.

I’m going to side with the “noes”. Just as a new unicycle isn’t going to make a non-rider learn to ride faster than with an old unicycle, a lighter unicycle isn’t going to magically make you a trials god. Big hops take lots of practice. Not only do you need to learn the technique, your body needs to learn it too. You don’t have time to think while in mid-air; your muscles have to have the experience of many hops before they know what to do to achieve the “perfect tuck”.