Questions: buying a new Unicycle

I have been riding for about 9 years with the same unicycle. I just ride recreationally and my unicycle is rather small for my size, so I get tired real quick. I am 6’2’’ 185lbs with a 34 inch inseam. I would like a uni that will handle well with moderate distance riding and some off-road. I was thinking around the 26inch size, maybe a 28. What modles and sizes would you guys recommend? Price range is around or under $500.
I haven’t really kept up with modern Unicycle technology… so if you guys could fill me in that would be awesome.

Re: Questions: buying a new Unicycle

have you been riding with the same unicycle in 9 years ? it should look like thrash. Buy a 20" Trial and ride some street is my recomend.

Simon

Yes, it does look like trash. I have a 20inch right now. It is way to small. It is the first and only one I have ever had.

This one looks like a good choice:
http://www.unicycle.com/shopping/shopexd.asp?id=791

It doesn’t’ have a splined hub, so it’s not going to be as strong as some others, but it’s plenty strong for the road and some cross-country. The advantage of having a square taper hub is the wider selection (and cheaper price) of cranks. The 127mm cranks it comes with is a good length for road riding for pretty long distances.

Others to take a look at are the KH24 (made for hard core MUni) and the Torker DX24 (not so hard core MUni).

Edit: Try searching this forum. There are plenty of threads on this subject.

but is not to smal, many uniryders have a 20". But do you ride MUni, trail, street, freestyle och what ?

Simon

Mostly street with some trail and muni mixed in.

By street, do you mean like street freestyle with hopping and grinding and stuff? Or just riding on the roads.

daniel

eljest is talking about some things that might not be so obvious

Trials (not to be confused with Trail riding) is about hopping and dropping and riding over obstacles one would not normally consider ridable with a unicyle.