Question: using Trials uni for everyday use?

I’m looking for feedback from you intermediate and expert unicyclists on the board…

I’m still a relative Newbie to unicycling. My first uni, the one I learned to ride on, was a crappy $50 one which began to break apart after six weeks. During my learning phase, I admired and envied the wide wheels and rugged durability of other unicycles I saw. I knew these ‘cycles were intended for Trials and Muni riding, but I had also seen instructors on YouTube and people in our local unicycling club using them on pavement, for everyday street riding. So, since it had come time to buy a new uni, and since I envied those fat (phat!) wheels, I ordered the Torker Unistar DX, with a 24” wheel. It should arrive this evening. But now I’m second-guessing myself.

Is this a reasonable purchase to have made, when I have NO intention of doing Trials or Muni riding, but only plan on riding this DX around my neighborhood and in parks, maybe run some errands on it, and nothing more hardcore than that? Can you use a Trials/Muni unicycle for everyday street riding, and if not, why not? After my experience with the cheapo model breaking apart, I was looking to buy something rugged and durable which would last…. but do you think I went too far?

Your choice is reasonable. It is a very rugged uni. A trial or muni is OK for just riding around and learning. Yes, maybe it is stronger then you need, who cares.
If you want more speed later, you can always change to a road tire and short cranks and you will have a very strong road uni.

Have fun with your new uni !