Question: bottom line reason

I was once asked:
Is it the attention you get, or the act of unicycling you enjoy most?

I’m sure I enjoy the attention, but am aware that I usually find myself riding where I know I will not be seen by anyone. If I know I won’t be seen, but still enjoy doing it, it can’t be for the attention. Then again, it’s really fun when someone sees me making a tough climb, or cleaning a drop, or… and I’m back to wondering.

What do you enjoy most about unicycling?

Re: Question: bottom line reason

Simply because I can. Everything new is just another bonus.

Steve

I’m right with ya. Sure ego is a factor, probably for most unicyclists. Plus you have to be at least a little bit of an exhibitionist. But the joy of riding, the friendship, the exercise I get from my chosen sport, and the fresh air and scenery outweigh the showoff angle, at least after my first year or two of riding.

Including when I did shows for a living. When entertaining, the idea is for the audience to have at least as much fun as you. If you can succeed in this, your show will be very popular.

I practice tricks in a gym, and I ride on remote trails. Very little of my riding is in “public” these days.

Either the chafing or the bruising. Both are highly desirable. Hope to see you in MN again, Jer.

Actually I would prefer not to be so conspicuous … not a chance when riding on one wheel though… too bad because I just love how it feels to ride a uni and wish I would be as unnoticeable as your average bike rider… but being noticed is a price I am willing to pay because of the fun I have riding.

Erin

much as i hate kids and still campaign for mandatory abortion, the smile on a kid’s face as u ride past is rather priceless

i get a major kick from impressing myself and learning to ride and learning new tricks all the time give me that

a bit of both i guess
that yin yang thing

Re: Question: bottom line reason

Jerry,