Problems with 165mm cranks on a 24 muni?

Hi world!

I am relatively new to unicycling. My friends and I began unicycling 3 months ago, and I am the first among them to purchase a higher-end muni – a Nimbus 24” x 3.0” with 165mm cranks, to be precise.

I absolutely love it. But I have questions about my choice in crank size.

When I climb uphill over any relatively sizable inclines, I seem to “stall out” fairly quickly when the pedals align vertically.

Also, when riding at full speed down the street, I find that my body bounces up and down as I pedal. Although the speed I am attaining is MUCH better than my original 20” unicycle, I never have had this “bobbing” effect before.

Are the problems that I’m describing typical for cranks that are too large? I’m beginning to think I should have gone with the 150mm.

I’m just wondering if this is a problem more likely caused by my cranks, or if it’s merely my inexperience.

Thanks!
–Jim Hettler

Hi Jim

Welcome to the world of muni, and the world forums!

Larger cranks have a bigger ‘dead spot’ that shorter cranks. A dead spot is an area of movement with the cranks that is more difficult than the rest of the circle. Shorter cranks (150’s) are a good length, and will have less of a dead spot and better for speed- but as a downside have less leverage.

Personaly I started off with 150’s on my first muni (and found them fine)without brakes. Longer cranks (eg 165’s, 170’s) on a 24 used to be the popular size for muni because of the great leverage, but these days 150’s seem to be a more popular length for offroading on a 24’’. Stick with these cranks for a while- it may just be that you need more time to get used to your very different setup :slight_smile: But long cranks do have a larger dead spot.

As for the bobbing effect long cranks are less smooth for speed and some people do find they ‘bob’ around with longer cranks- longer cranks have a tendency to be more prone to bobbing about.