Powder coat color "blending"

I talked with someone at the skatepark Friday who said they could P. coat my MUni frame and do a two-color “fade” or blend. I thought that sounded cool, and would look so much better than just one plain color.

But today I talked with my regular Powder coat guy who did a few jobs for me a while back. He owns his own PC shop and has been doing this for over TWENTY years, and he told me he’s not aware of any Powder coating method/technique where you can accurately blend/fade one color to the next and have it turn out well.

So he asked me to try to get in touch with the guy(s) who said that they could do the PC blend (in my case, black fading to dark blue) and ask them “how they do it” and where they get there materials and such. So if you’re reading this and you remember meeting me at the skatepark on Friday, please PM me asap. thanks!

im no expert, but that sounds like a bunch of bull. if your guy didnt know how, it probably isnt possible

Justin Abbott said that he has done it and it worked well. Maybe you were talking him?

it is hard to get a good “fade” but you can do it

Maybe. I don’t remember his name. Him and his friend’s unis had nice PC finishes, but they were both solid colors, not “blended.”

I remember who your talking about.

One had a solid green uni with moment cranks. Another had a tiny 12" uni with a blue PC on it. They were the guys with the bent Torker TX uni.

I think 2 of them from that group use the forums, so they will probably see this soon.

yeah.
the guy with the green uni is justin.
He’s my bay area pimp.

Awww, keep the camo, that owns any kind of powder coating.

I’m not an expert either, but I’ve witnessed the process myself and I do think it possible. I see no reason why not.