Pondering DIY Saddle and Seatpost

So I’m a beginner currently enjoying the luxurious comfort of a Torker CX stock saddle… but I’m also an engineer who has ended up in a machine shop customizing gear for every hobby I had in the past. As a result, when I’m not able to be actually practicing, my mind is in overdrive planning, for example:

Say I got a nice saddle or two (worth more than my current uni, but that will change), that had a pivotal mount. I can’t get a 22.4mm pivotal post from UDC at all, and the 22.4mm ones available for the BMX market are way shorter than the 350-400mm I’d need. Could I get a larger diameter post, and bolt or silver-braze it over a piece of 22.4mm OD steel DOM tubing?

What’s the typical wall thickness on a steel seat post anyway? (I’d have to saw off the chamfer on mine to be able to measure it)

If I were going to build a saddle from scratch, say on a multilayer aircraft plywood or aluminum bar base, what would be a good way to attach it to a seat post and make the angle adjustable? I know where there’s a buzz-box stick welder I could beg access too, but just duplicating the traditional four-bolts-on-a-curve mount by (very) amateurishly welding a piece of flat stock to tubing seems limited. What about turning a piece of steel or aluminum to fit inside the end of the seatpost and cross drilling it for a pivot bolt? This could then perhaps fit into a sawn-open piece of steel or aluminum square tubing or channel on the bottom of the saddle. Or perhaps I could use a T shaped piece on the saddle and mill a notch for it in the post insert?

Or what about bike style mounts with a clamp and rails mechanism?

Anyone ever tried something like this? I’ve seen the threads on reworking saddles, but am kind of curious about crafting something from scratch. Or should I just order a long 22.4 mm traditional seatpost and something like an impact naomi and find other ways to occupy my mind when I’m not actually practicing?