Please help shorty

Hey everyone,

I’m new to the unicycling community, but I rode one about 20 years ago when I was a kid. I’d like to buy a unicycle to start up again, but I’m having a bit of trouble. I’ve heard the Torker LX 20" is a good one to start with, but it says a minimum 33" inseam is required. I’m rather short and my inseam is only 29" with shoes.

Can someone offer any advice on a beginner unicycle for a short person? The Torker CX 20 says a minimum 29" inseam is required-any criticisms of that cycle?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Hey, and welcome back to the addiction

Hopefully you’ve found Unicycle.com (UDC)

Look up the Club and the trainer, both available in 20’s as well… About the same price and I know they get shorter (27 or 28")as I have been wanting to grab one for my 11 year old…
Also check out the Nimbus Boomerang… Gets pretty short and looks stout to me, but I have a thing for fat tires so…
When I asked about the Torker I got a mixed bag of answers so I steered clear

A lot of that is in the length of the seat post. I have a 30-31" inseam and ride a Nimbus trials 20" with a 300mm seatpost. A friend of mine bought a Torker CX off ebay years ago, and the seatpost was insanely long. They can be cut with a pipe cutter or hacksaw, just make sure to leave enough so you have at least 2" insertion into the frame.

A 20" should work just fine for you.

Thanks so much for the advice. I’ll check out the unicycles you mentioned. That’s good to know about the seatpost. I’ve heard good things about the LX which is why I was leaning towards it. Maybe I’ll buy it and just cut the post. I found it for $99 with free shipping. Thanks again.