Peddle Protectors

I’m not very experienced at unicycling, but I’m not a beginner either. I’m going to be getting a Nimbus 2 ISIS next month. Is it worth the money to invest in geting a pair of peddle protectors too?

depends, exactly what kind of uni are you getting? (nimbus 2 isis could be a freestyle, muni or trials anywhere from 20" to 29"). For muni or trials they will stop good pedals getting mashed, and that annoying noise that metal pedals make when you drop a uni. The will also stop metal pedals digging holes on the boot of your car or the walls in your house. If it’s just a freestyle or hockey uni I woudn’t bother.

If you mean this

http://www.unicycle.com/shopping/shopexd.asp?id=1057

then it comes with plastic pedals and no need for the protectors.

If you are using it inside on a gym floor then they might be required by the building owners in order to help protect their floors.

I’m going to custom build it for trials and I plan on geting metal peddles. I never thought about the sound of metal on concrete or scraping of cars and walls, good points

Pedal weight weenie weighs in

I bought some and put them on a set of snafus. Made a heavy set of pedals heavier IMHO. Not worth it for me, to do it again , I wouldn’t.

These plastic bumper things weigh 70 grams on my extremely accurate ( don’t ask ) scale.

I like light pedals, and ride outside. Basically, those things are fairly tough, high quality. But I prefer a lighter pedal, so I don’t use them anymore.

Whatcha weighing their buuuuuudy?

Yeah feel the light…you wanna be friends? I think we’d get along. Come visit me, and bring everything you’ve ever weighed on that scale.:stuck_out_tongue:

wait, why are we taking about fish?

they are also great on 29 and 36" unicycles. these typically hit the ground with a lot of speed and go flying away down the road…these pedal protectors act as a break…if the pedal hits, they pretty much stop right there.

i have thanked myself for having them repeatedly