pedals for a newbie

I started learning how to ride my unicycle just under 2 months ago. I started with an affordable 26" Club, with the initial goal of just riding a few local bike paths. However, I have been bitten by the bug, and now am readjusting my goals to include muni riding. I have mountain biked for nearly 25 years and have very good technical skills and am itching to get out there. However, I am being patient and building my skills before getting in over my head. I currently can ride up to a mile and a quarter without upd’s, though that isn’t a guarantee. My turns are improving, and my free mounts are getting more reliable each day. Today, I switched to Shadow Conspiracy pedals, and I was completely unable to ride. I had to take all the pins out, totally defeating the purpose of having them in the first place. It turns out that I move my feet A LOT while riding, constant micro-adjustments that I wasn’t aware of until I felt like I couldn’t adjust at all. I had to go back to a fence and still couldn’t ride. Is this normal and do I need to just push through? I’m thinking of putting just a few pins in at first and adding the rest as I get used to them. Thanks for any suggestions!