Pedal is falling off. Help

I have a Nimbus I have been riding regularly for about 6 months.
Today I noticed my right pedal is nearly falling off. It appears the bolt is stripped and I don’t see a way to tighten it.

I am right foot dominate and have been doing a lot hopping and idiling etc

If this normal wear and tear? Do I need to just order new pedals?

Now im not an expert in this matter because I’ve never experienced this In my riding. It could be from idling as riding backwards can loosen your pedals, although you would think the idling motion would loosen and then tighten. If you have another set of pedals I would try threading a new one on to make sure you have not damaged your crank ( steal one off of a bike if you don’t have an extra just to test the crank threads). I have made it a point to quickly go over my unis prior to each ride, I have found loose seat / handle bar bolts as well as pedals and just last week a loose crank bolt. It only takes a few minutes with my 3 way alen key and my udc pedal wrench . Hope it’s not your crank that’s stripped. Good luck.

2 Likes

Check out the first reply to your first post here :slight_smile:

Slightly different situation, but yea, I’m not very mechanically inclined lol

Looks like the crank is the problem. I guess I have to ride my Sun for a few days ha

I assume this has been happening over time. But could it have been prevented?

I spend most of my time practicing in my drive way. Learning to hop, idle, ride backwards etc. So I do put it under a lot stress.

I really like my Nimbus II but is it really not built for hopping and jumping?

Thanks in advance for any insight

If you ride with it while it’s loose you’ll damage even the best quality product. Aluminum is softer than steel, so after the pedal loosened up it was what suffered the damage. ISIS cranks are a stout design however. Just order some new ones and chaulk it up to a mistake.

2 Likes

Got it, thanks Duff!