Oregon 26 or 29?

I want to get a Muni and would like input on whether the Oregon 26 or 29 would be best.

A little background. I have a Nimbus 36. I have over 2700 miles of mainly road riding over the last 4 years. I recently started riding the Nimbus on some local trails. They are generally non technical flowing single track trails with some relatively small roots and rocks. Today I rode in wet conditions and discovered that the tire I have (Nightrider I think? Diamond pattern) gives no traction on wet dirt and mud. I did lots of slipping and extra UPD’s as a reslult.

So, I want a Muni. I like the big tire of the Oregon. I am leaning toward the 29 inch but am wondering if that huge tire on the 26 might be the way to go.

Thank you for your input.

I normally ride a 26x4, but have tried a 29x3 a time or two.

For an all arounder, either will do you well. I think fatty’s are the best all around Muni’s out there, regardless of size.

In my opinion though, I give the edge to the 29x3 just barely. It’ll handle snow and treat you better in the summer. The 26x4 can be a bit of a bear when it’s dry, but it’s still a blast.

What it comes down to for me, is that in snow, the 26 will do better, and in dirt conditions, the 29 will do better.

I’d get both if my frame would fit the 29 :roll_eyes: .

Thanks Killian,

I assume the frame is the same and I could add another wheel / tire option in the future?

I have been leaning toward the 29x3 and I don’t plan much if any snow riding.

I am curious to see if anyone really pushes the 26 over the 29 in this thread.

Thanks again.

If you don’t plan for snow, I’d go with the 29. The Knard is a fantastic trail tire too.

The great thing is that the frame will fit just about any other tire you could want, so if you want a ‘normal’ wheelset, just throw one in. Or with the Oregon, if you decide you do want a 26x4, you can build one and it’ll fit.