ONE freaking INCH!

For the past almost 4 months I’ve been trying to unciycle.
I learned how to freemount before I learned how to ride, and on average I could only ride about 5 feet before I bailed. (Oh, and one day quite by accident I learned I could freemount and start hopping but that’s a different story)

Everyone who was trying to figure out why I wasn’t riding yet kept telling me the seat was an inch or two too short for my height. But it was already at it’s safe maximum.

Finally my unicycling partner in crime Phil convinced himself I won’t break the unicycle by going higher than the reccomended seat-post-height and gave me an extra inch.

IMMEDIATELY I started riding 3x further than before. Gotdamnit. One inch. Go figure eh?

P.S. Everyone should buy a(nother) copy of Spaced Out. Just because it’s that cool.

im not really that suprised that when you raised it it help you

When your seat is too low, your legs are cramped and are constantly more tense, therefore riding is harder…it throws or your ballance, and yes, on inch is alot!

davis should raise his seat more

The same happened to me, I used to ride with my seat for trials very low, beccause I would only seat in hop. I raised my seat, and evreything was put into a new light. Often times the rising or lowering can use different muscles, so I bet that is what made it easier, leg extension.

I learnt on a uni that was way too small for me… after I got a new one, I found that having the seat too low made it more wobbly… My theory is that the higher the seat is, the more it acts like a ships keel or something, it keeps the wheel straighter…

i mean i still am a very uncontrolled rider & stuff like that.
(i always keep turning right.) but seriously. i’m kicking myself for the fact if it was raised higher 3 months ago i could probably do more now!

grumbles :slight_smile:

of course once i figure this out i have to drop the seat again so i can learn trials stuff!

lilfunky1 said: (i always keep turning right.)