Old story of my trials performance

Last year, I wrote this up, but lost the disk that I saved it on, until now. It’s a vivd description of some riding at the end of the 5th grade talent show, as I attempted some simple trials. I am a teacher not a student.

I wasn’t really ready to perform, and I hadn’t brought any boards to ride. But I made an impromptu set-up with two desks. The were student side-by-side desks. They were set narrow end to narrow end with one 6” higher than the other one. I didn’t know if I was going to go on until 10 minutes before the end of the talent show. I got the high sign, quickly changed and did a quick warm up in the parking lot. I hopped the stairs up and down outside the back of the auditorium while the door was closed, beforehand. I had planned on hopping up and down the stairs up to the stage inside the auditorium, so this was the practice. I hadn’t done stairs in weeks. Between acts and before I went on, I walked down one aisle from the back of the auditorium, with the MUni. Boy did that cause a stir. Kids were turning their heads from everywhere. I heard, lot’s of “Hey, look at Mr. Wylie. He’s got his unicycle. WOW! That’s cooooolll!” I was in full armor with my helmet under my arm. I calmly tried to ignore the attention. I grinned inside.

It was my turn. I walked forward to the mike. I made a speech about this being my hobby and how much I love it. I also explained what I was going to do. Some simple skills, hop up the stairs and down then try to do a hop up to the lowest desk. I then made the all important speech about helmets and how kids should wear them whether they unicycle, skateboard, or ride a bike.

I then fastened the chin strap. Step over mount and up. I rode forward across the floor in front of everyone. Cheers everywhere!!! I then circled around and rode backwards across the floor. Okay, so that’s it for my tricks. Cheers again, a roar! Dam, I am digging this!