Oh dear, oh dear oh dear oh dear.

Hello,

A couple of days ago i tried some different crank lengths, and of course managed to **** ** the threads on the hub. My almost new UDC Max Traction… sob
Well, if i was an optimist i could always think that this is a great oppertunity to learn to ride long-distance one-footed, or wheel-walk and some gliding. But i’m not…

According to my bank account my options are:
A. Weld crank to hub and rebuild wheel when my wallet is big enough for new hub and cranks.
B. Fix the threads. (No idea how).
C. Become an optimist…

Any tips or suggestions? I can’t be the only one who have messed up this?

/Kenny

I’m afraid I’ve got no experience with fixing threads, but I was wondering what you did to damage them as it may help others to avoid doing the same thing.

Re: Oh dear, oh dear oh dear oh dear.

Definitely not; I think I’ve actually heard of more people destroying / damaging hubs this way than bending them. I did it to my Max Traction, by forgetting to remove the nuts before trying to remove the crank with the crank remover. Overtightening of the nut will probably do the same thing.

If you get the crank(s) welded on, sooner or later you will have to replace the lot for one reason or another, including the price of a new set of cranks. I’d definitely try to find some way of getting hold of a new hub, even if it’s a cheaper one rather than a suzue; if you’re not doing big drops I don’t think there’s any difference.

Phil

Either i tried to tighten it to hard, and/or the bolt wasn’t properly in place when i tightened it.

Never underestimate the damage a hungry and tired Kenny can do…

Take it in to your local bike shop and see if they can help you out. In my early days working at the bike here I stripped the thread on a crank arm and Gary fixed it for me.

Good luck,
Andrew

you’ve had it

welding will knacker the heat-treatment.