observation about unicycling

I have been riding now for 4 months. Tell me if my observations are inaccurate.
I started out on a 20 in and within a month went to a street 29 nimbus. I started out with a slightly underflated tire. 25-30 lbs. Minimun is 35. I recently increased it to 40 psi. It seems faster but more harder to control. I guess less surface area for the tire on the pavement. Hills require more balance but I can go a lot faster up them. downhills the same. I am able to go further each time w/o bailing but I have to concentrate more. Just observations. It would seem then that newbies should start out with slightly underinflated tires and increase the air pressure as they get better. Remember these are just observations and I realize I could be way off.

Mike A.

Funny, I just had the same observation tonight after work. I pumped up my tire to 50lbs and could not even ride it. Let it back down to about 30 and it was much better for me. I’m learning so it really helped to lower the pressure. It kept the wobble/twisting under control.

Yes, you’re both correct. Lower psi = better traction and controllability, while more psi = less traction and higher speed. Lower is easier, Higher is more difficult but generally better depending on your style of riding. I’m distance so I prefer high pressure, but a trials rider might like lower pressure, as it’s also conducive to higher jumping.

pressure too low can be the worst of both worlds. I haven’t noticed it being harder to control with more pressure, probably the opposite, but too low a pressure and it takes a lot more force to get back to center. The tire starts to “hold onto” the turn, so it makes things like idling much more difficult when you’re running tires low.

I generally ride the 36er with max (or just barely under) pressure. I’d rather have the efficiency on flat terrain.