nightrider frame issue

I’ve been riding this since 2009, it’s been through broken spokes and rebuilds. The wheel is actually pretty straight and true, but I’m now having an issue with the new tire I installed clearing the frame. It’s within 1-3mm (guestimating). It’s always been a little lopsided, and I’ve known that since I picked it up. I love her for it.

I was wondering if anybody knew a frame builder that may be able to move those bars and give me more clearance, and perhaps weld an extra support bar between the two… would you call them seatstays?

Any other solutions are welcome. The tire itself isn’t rubbing, but the little nubs on the tire do rub, which is maybe a minor annoyance… and no, I’m not lopping them all off with a knife. : P They come off after a little while.

Personally I think the easiest way would be to re-dish the wheel. Slightly loosen the spokes on the side that rubs and slightly tighten the spokes on the other side to center it up. Something a bike shop can easily do if you’re not comfortable doing it yourself. If that’s not enough, then you’re probably looking at a frame mod.

I’ve only built one wheel. Tried to take it back to the shop that built this one but they basically said “eh, close enough” . . . probably will end up just taking it to another shop.

There’s a possibility that the frame itself is out of alignment.

There are two possible solutions, you could dish the wheel over (my preference) or you could cut a strip or two of pop can and put it between the bearing and frame to shim it up on the close side.

Hope that made sense.

Really, it would be easy to loosen one side of spokes a quarter turn and tight the other side the same. If it’s a straight properly tensioned wheel, it should stay that way.

Hey Justin,
From that top picture, I’m surprised how low the right connecting bar was welded.