Newbie with questions

I’m new to the sport and have a 20" starter unicycle (Torker DX). I have a few questions.

It seems that I can only go about 100’ before I’m winded. I can ride my 2 wheeler 50 miles in the mountains, but riding my unicycle is exhausting.
Is this normal? I know a larger wheel will help, but does it make that much difference?

Is there a good unicycle seat. The one I have now makes my wonder if I’ll ever be able to have kids. Ouch! Is there any way to make a seat less painful?

Thanks,
Ron

Riding a unicycle is exhausting, especially in the beginning/while learning. The more you practice the more efficient you become which will save energy. Eg: I remember waving my arms around quite a bit to maintain balance in the beginning, now if I’m road riding I don’t wave my arms around at all so I’m saving all that energy I was ‘wasting’ before.

Still, it’s an exhausting activity even after you get proficient.

A larger wheel will make a big difference. If you want to go 10 miles you’re going to have to do a LOT more revolutions on a 20" wheel than you’d have to do on a 36" wheel. Larger wheels also translate to less time in the saddle to cover the same distance. Plus I find that it’s a bit easier to get into a rhythm on larger wheels, where a smaller wheel may require balance correcting due to being a bit twitchier.

Yes, they make a relatively comfortable unicycle seat. I too had one of those seats that felt like you were sitting on a knife… which you just dealt with until you went numb. I then got a Kris Holm Freeride seat. It was so much better that I didn’t even feel like I was sitting on a unicycle the first time I took my new uni out for a spin. So old seat: immediately deal with sharp pain, go numb after 10 minutes, completely crushed beyond my desire to stand it any longer after about 2 hours; new seat: no sharp pains whatsoever, start to get saddle soreness after about 2 - 2.5 hours but nothing too terrible.