Newbie Self Spotter Trick: Hiking/Skiing Poles

I just started riding, so I’m far from an expert, but in order to learn on my own I picked up a set of a hiking poles and put rubber walking tips on the ends.

They are extremely helpful for starts, rests, and it was very quick to progress from “walking” along with both poles to riding with poles out for balance.

The best part of using the poles is that I was able to catch myself easier when I loss my balance without constant dismounts, so I spent more time on the cycle than mounting the cycle.

I’m not sure if I progressed faster, but I was able to ride “free” for distances of 50m or greater within six practice sessions, so way less than ten hours.

Still working on non-assisted starts, but can turn right and left, idling for short periods of time, all in under fifteen sessions, though I still have the poles for the occassional slip :slight_smile:

Thanks to Scott, AKA Powderhoar on TTips for getting me and my 12 yo son started on unicycling. I am 43 this coming week and this was my birthday present to myself :smiley:

I ride a Nimbus 24" Muni now, dreaming of a 20" trials and a KH 29er :sunglasses:

I love unicycling!

Hey…thats me!
Welcome Ben, thanks for the write-up on the poles. I am sure some will find that a valuable trick/tool.
Happy birthday!

I think the time you took to learn is the normal time, about a week…
Unicycling is really good :sunglasses:

welcome chap.
goodluck with your learning and congratulations on your progression.

mind your shins

Tom :slight_smile:

That’s one more of us and one less of them.

Welcome to the fora.

It’s interesting to hear a positive story about learning with poles.
The jury’s been out on that approach for a long time.
One of the counter arguments being that you have more to get in the way in the event of a UPD (UnPlanned Dismount - us unicycles don’t ‘fall’, ever,)

Your suggestion that it allowed you more saddle-time makes a lot of sense.