Newbie learning tip

Ok, so I’m still learning. And yeah, I’m using those ski poles that so many people have told me to dump. But they really help with the mount in the middle of the parking lot. Otherwise, I was going to bring a step ladder to hang onto. And they give me more confidence…or a crutch depending how you think about it. But I digress.

Here’s my tip…

I made huge progress when I found a slight uphill incline. The resistance really seemed to help me out. In reverse…a slight downhill, I pick up speed easier, lean back more…have the uni slip out in front of me, etc.

Getting the hang of the slight uphill also makes my troubles with downhill seem less daunting.

My two cents worth…from an old man that’s trying to get this down…

not bad,you really should get rid of the training poles…there dangerous…fall poke an eye out etc.

uhhh ya good,going keep it up…don’t quit although it’s just like a bike you never forget but you do get a lil worse…protect them shinzz!!!

i know people say that about never forgetting how to ride a bike but having unicycled for a while and not being near a bike in a couple of years i had forgotten how to ride, i tried riding the bike back underneath myself like i do my unicycle and f*ckin fell off!!! ahahahahahaha …

x

Advice

Drop the poles. I learned by using a wall to get on. After I got some balance I would lean forward and then start to go. I tried the ski poles and hated them.

I never even thought of using anything but the wall, and when you thing about it anything besides a wall or fence is dangerous. Also, the poles will probably just slow down the rate you learn. Get rid of them.

How I learned to ride, and how I teach others to ride

Hills can do wonders for folks learning to mount. Mounting slowly downhill on a steep hill can teach riders how to keep their pedals from moving during the mount.