newbie help

I have only been riding a little over two weeks but I notice and others have noticed that my cadence is very jerky. I have been riding my mountain and cyclocross bikes for a long time and pretty much know how I should ride. I have adjusted my seat many times (up down) but to know avail. Is it because I am new at this or because I have a cheap 20 in avenir unicycle. I have short legs but a very long torso.

Hey there and welcome to the forums =D
For your problem, straighter riding will just come with experience and as your torso gets stronger (all the back and forth movement for the balance). The unicycle has very little to do with it in terms of quality. All I can say is that a higher tire Pressure rolls alot smoother and a higher seat is better for endurance and your knees. You’ll just have to wait it out for a month or two, I’m sure you’ll be riding straighter in no time =D

Also I just want to say, that there’s a good search function located in the upper right corner for the user experience. You can research there for future reference as chances are, most of our questions have been asked many times before =P

Enjoy!

Naa. Just give it more time. You’ll get smoother with practice.

Your foward momentum will get smoother as you ride more and more, as well as your side-to-side steering. Because when you first learn to ride, you’re often making a lot of quick over-corrections, that’s what is looking jerky. Over time you will become more intune with your balance and it will subside. You can’t really compare it to anything, you can be a profesional road cyclist or downhill rider and have that same problem.

Whenever you are on your seat is most of your weight on the front of the seat, middle or the back of the seat?

Personally, most of my weight or in the middle and to the back of the seat, otherwise ‘stuff’ gets in the way.