Newbie fatigue

I’m a newbie and have gotten to the point where I can ride 50 straight meters pretty consistently, turn left the majority of the the time and turn right about 50% of the time. However, if i do longer runs (100 meters or more) fatigue kicks in pretty easily. I’m in good shape and ride single speed mountain bikes so I think I’m too tense and once I get more comfortable/relaxed things will get easier.

But any tips for helping with fatigue so I’m not spent after 100 meter? Maybe instead of trying to do as long of run as possible I should work on specific things next?

As you ride more and get more comfortable, you’ll start putting more weight on the seat and less weight on your legs. This is will help tremendously. I guess you can try focusing on that, but it will come naturally as you ride more.

This is the universal complaint of beginners. I have heard it described on the forum as “beginners inefficiency”. I suffered from it, and I think pretty much everybody suffers from it. Just take a lot of tiny breaks between each of your short rides. My understanding is that beginners use what are called “fast twitch” muscles to ride. These particular muscle fibers burn out quickly. At a certain point in your progress (assuming you persevere/keep practicing), your efficiency will improve, and you’ll be using the “slow twitch” fibers instead. At that point, you’ll be able to ride indefinite distances without tiring, and you’re soreness complaint will move from your legs to your groin area (and there are remedies for that, as well).

Keep practicing!

You might get more replies, but none of them will add much to skunkman’s - it’s all about getting weight on the saddle and off your legs. This is such a standard newbie problem - I think all of us have been through it - that it was obvious from the post title!

What are the remedies for pain in the groin area?