Newbie and lost

Hello! I’m a newbie to this forum and a mostly-newbie to unicyling. (a word which this spell-check insists does not exist! :astonished: )

I’m totally lost with these forums. I’ve a member of only on other message board, and it is super-organized. I… just can’t seem to find anything here.

I do have a couple of questions. If I’m putting this in the wrong spot, please let me know!

For the life of me, I can’t seem to find any unicycle groups/clubs (that aren’t serious juggling school things) in the St. Louis area. I know two people here who unicycle, even though I rarely get to meet up with them, and I (obviously) don’t know anyone up in STL yet. Does anyone here have info?

I’ve been unicycling for several months. I can ride forwards, freemount, and jumprope. That’s about it. :stuck_out_tongue: I’m working on idling and backwards riding. Can’t wait to go through all these tutorials you have here.

This might be a weird question: Do any of you have shin splints/cramping foot problems while riding? I have weird feet (so weird that my parents are going to take me to a podiatrist and get fancy shoes), and they are prone to cramps and blisters and whatnot. My feet being weird might explain the arch cramps, but not the shin splints! I don’t even ride for long periods of time. My record is two miles.

Is there any thread/website/etc. that explains the differences between various types of unicycles, what all the uni-jargon means, etc? I mean, I didn’t know what the difference between a crank and whatchamacallit were until my dad helped me put my 24" Torker together. After reading these things about fancy unicycles, I’m starting to get concerned. Am I going to ruin my expensive (expensive by my standards) unicycle by hopping on it? Riding it on gravel?