new to unicycling

Hi, guys I want to learn to use a unicycle but I’m not shur if I should because I live in the bush. were I live we have a bunch of graver roads and a lot of trails and farm stuff that could be fun to unicycle on but is it worth the money??
since I have to go about 7 miles to get to town?
and if so what uni should I get my in leg is 31"
and I have a tight budget :angry:

You don’t have to go to town to unicycle. A lot of people ride mountain uni (Muni). It’s fun if you can afford a unicycle and want to learn. You may want to learn on a 20", to me they are easier than 24". Gravel can be a bit of a pain, but any hardpacked dirt or solid surface works.

brands

what brands should I buy?
I was thinking 3" tier but i’m no expert so any help appreciated!:slight_smile:

What is your budget? Where are you from?

This will help you get better info.

i wouldnt get anything with that bigger tire to learn on i would get a 2 0inch learner then maybe upgrade when you get better

my budget is around 250 but less would be good!!
and I’m from Manitoba Canada

Hey, I first learnt when I was living in (the southern part of) Northern Saskatchewan. 80km from the nearest town and 250km from the nearest city.

You definitely do not need to be in town to ride but having an area cleared of snow does help a lot.

I learnt on a lake where I cleared the ice since it was the only flat area around. (I also studded my tire)

I started with a cheep trials unicycle with square taper cranks. I wish I would have gotten something splined but they were out of my price range. With the popularization of the ISIS interface in unicycles splined unis are getting a lot cheeper.