new to unicycling

hi, im new to unicycling. i broke my arm bad doing vertical rollerskating but now its healing well. i am now in a short cast so i have to play it safe for awhile. but im eager to try something fun and new! i will probably later go into street/trails but for now i have a simple used 16" Torker. im pretty tiny, 5’, so it seems ok to learn the basics before i get something nice.

i have the seat low since i dont want to fall yet but this seems to be a problem learning? i really have to stand up and pull the seat up it seems to pedal. so far all i can do is rock on it in the hallway. i did 2 full turns one time but i was standing up on it and pulling up on the seat. i also find if i dont lean forward, wheel goes in front of me? is this sort of like using stilts as far as balancing as i had a set as a kid. any help starting? i cant really go for it for a month til i know my arm is healed but i would like to be able to go down the hallway as even that amuses me now lol.

Welcome to unicycling! You covered alot in your short intro, much of which is answered here:

Its a long one but there is a whole lot of good information there. Sounds like you need to raise your seat to help you learn the basics. Ideally you want your leg to be almost straight at the bottom of the pedal stroke while you are sitting in the seat. Later, depending on the style of riding you go into you may want it lower. Even for your height a 16" is pretty small, but it may well be enough to get you started. Lots of knowledgeable folks here to help, also loads of info already posted. Hit that search button hard!

Kurt

As for starting in a hallway, I’d suggest putting a 2X4 or something behind your tire and putting the pedals at 3 o’clock and 9 o’clock. You are correct that when the unicycle shoots out in front of you it generally means you aren’t leaning far enough forward as you pedal. Try not to rely on the walls as you move forward, and whatever you do, don’t re-injure that arm!