New Rider with seat causing pain

I just started riding a unicycle and can now ride about 50 to 100 ft without falling.

My seat seems to rub on my legs a lot. I am experiencing bad chaffing on my legs (or inner thighs) when riding for more than 10 minutes. It’s to the point where I can’t ride anymore now…

I ride on flat ground but it’s not pavement, so I have work to stay up.
I do wobble a bit to stay balanced, and this seems to make it worse.

Is it my seat? Or my wobbling? Anyone experience the same thing?

Thanks guys!

-Ben

Its just generally being new to unicycling. Try wearing some bicycling shorts, or getting a different saddle all together, one thats softer. Try putting a rag or cloth on the seat as well. Keeps your pants from being too baggy, then can rub you raw. If i havent seriously gone out and done some trials in a few weeks, i experience this to the max, also bruising. If all else fails, try getting some lubrication off unicycle.com, so your seat doesnt rub as much. Or just live with it for a while. Hope i helped :slight_smile:

-graham

Absoloutely normal for a new rider, the skin on your inner thighs will toughen and all the hair will get pulled out eventually, making it alot more comfortable. Also chances are if you have a fairly cheap beginner uni it will have a nasty saddle, if it gets unbearable consider upgrading it.

yeah… thats what i meant in my frist post, but that didnt make sense to myself at all. W00tles, yeah, just try and get used to it for now, or just refrain from riding until the chaffing gets better, and then do it again.

Thanks!

You guys are fast. Thanks for the feedback!

That helps a ton.

Since I don’t know any other unicyclers, I was getting discouraged.

I did several miles yesterday, after a long “lay off” and I noticed the seat chaffing. And that sort of proves that it’s something you can get used to, because I don’t normally notice it.