New Rider Suicide Mount?

I just taught my friend how to ride a unicycle. He has reached level 1 after around 3 hours of practice ( 2 hours on a 19" and the last hour on a KH24). He learned to free mount before he could ride 10 feet unassisted.

For a while he was trying to do the standard mount but then he saw me do a suicide mount and thought it would be easer then trying to do the standard mount since he was having problems with kickback. The backward momentum wouldn’t be started like in the roll back when trying to standard mount so he thought you wouldn’t have to work so hard to get started pedaling using the jump mount.

Anyway, he still cannot do the standard mount but can successfully suicide mount the majority of the time and uses the jump mount as his standard free mount.

I had been riding for around two years before I ever tried the suicide mount and it seems like not many people try to do it. Even riders who can suicide mount don’t seem to use it often except to show the skill.

Questions: Does anyone use the jump or suicide mount as their standard? Or is my friend the first to do so that you know of?
Is the suicide mount actually easer to do then the standard mount? Do you think it is just the fear-factor that keeps people from learning the suicide mount sooner?

Finally, what should I try to teach my friend next? He seems like a fast learner and wants to do MUni and some trials.

I played with the idea. Then I found it was to tiring on ride that involve lots of dismounts or trials runs. It also didn’t work to well for MUni, espesialy on hills:D

wow, that’s very interesting…but is it the suicide mount, or the jump mount? because the suicide mount is also called the free jump mount, which is different than the jump mount in that you don’t touch the uni with your hands when you jump, but in a regular jump mount you hold the seat with your hand as you get on.