New here... but Uni for 32 years...

Just wanted to say hello. I am new to this site. I am 40 years old, but have unicycled since I was 8 years old.

I learned on a little Sear and Roebuck 20 inch (I beat it to death). Have rode a 24" Schwinn and a 6" Girraff ever since. All the new unicycles look great. What options there are now. I am drooling over a Big Wheel Coker.

Now 2 of my three children have just started learning. Yesterday one rode 21 feet and the other rode 18 feet. Yippeeee, I’m not gonna be by myself in parades anymore.

I am so proud they have followed in their Daddy’s footsteps! I look forward to learning much on this forum. --chirokid–

welcome,you’ll love it here.

get a Coker

Brian

Hi,

I’m about your age, and I started riding on a very basic 20, and made do with that for many years before suddenly discovering this site, and a few others, and learning that unicycles are now readily available in a whole range of exciting flavours.

A year later, I have a medium sized fleet of unis, including a Coker; my riding ability has increased enormously; and I’ve met a few of the regulars in this forum, and been on long rides, played hockey, and all sorts of stuff.

It’s weird, like spending years thinking you’re the only unicyclist for hundreds of miles, ploughing a lone furrow, then discovering a huge and thriving unicycling subculture. I felt a bit like the Japanese soldier who was dug in in the jungle for 20 years, not realising the war was over and we were all friends again.

Greetings and welcome.

I’m glad to hear that some of your children have taken an interest. Both of my children ride and my wife is learning. It’s a wonderful family experience.

I think you will enjoy this forum. I’ve found it to be a wonderful source of information and inspiration.

Cheers,
Jason

Welcome!

Welcome chirokid,

I’m 37 years old. I have started unicycling one year ago.
By virtue of the help of this forum and warm hearted people,