new from Kentucky

Hi Everyone
I’m new to unicycles. Still looking for which one to buy. Are the larger wheels easier to learn on?

New Unicycle

Hi! I’m new, too! I don’t think a bigger wheel is easier to learn on. Not that it’s impossible, but I think that it seems beneficial to learn on a smaller wheel (but not smaller than 20", if you’re an average height adult.) Basic skills like changing direction, maneuvering and hopping seem easier on my 20" than my 24" (not that I’m that good yet). Going distances and rolling over things seem easier on the 24". I’m lucky and have 3 unicycles already (well at one point I had 5, but own a bike shop and not sure if that counts…) Depending on your goals and height, I would probably go with a 20" or 24" for learning. But it doesn’t seem like there’s a real right or wrong way to go about it, I’ve found, and seen many success stories of people going right into MUni, and no real harm in going for what feels right. I plan on posting an intro in a bit, too, but decided to reply to your thread; hopefully you’ll find better advice than mine, so welcome, and happy unicycle shopping! I don’t think you can go wrong with anything at UDC if you talk to them about your goals as well.

Kentucky

Hey Dude. Welcome. This is a good place to start. You will find some very useful input here. You will find some very interesting characters also. I also have just recently joined the forum. This place can be real entertaining and informative. You will find, as you navigate the site, plenty of threads on your topic. Plenty of New/Learning to ride members and plenty of 40 and 50 year riders. And so many cool,crazy/fun things people are doing with the hobby. Have you been to Unicyce.com ? Josh will get you headed in the right direction for a starter uni. Where in Ky ? Jeff C

spell check…unicycle.com. try that

Hey neighbor, I’m in Lagrange, not to far from ya. I’ll check out unicycles.com today!
Thanks,
Garagedude