New 36er Rim and Tire ?'s

Hey,

So I’m proceeding with the 36" bike project I started a while ago. I am trying to gain some acceptance for the wheelsize, and the response thus far has been very encouraging.

There are two things that, in my mind, need to happen for 36ers, (uni and bike.)

Firstly, there needs to be an established ISO tire size. This is critical in avoiding the current Coker/Wheels TA tire rim issues. For there to be two tires and two rims out there that don’t work together is ridiculous.

Secondly, there needs to be a higher quality rim and tire available. If one were to scale up a common 29er tire to 36" it would weigh between 800-1000 gms. This is a huge difference from a 1700-2000 gm TA slick or Coker.

So I’m wondering two things. I’m new to the unicycle world, so I don’t know how many 36er riders there are out there. That, and if a much lighter tire and rim were available, how many people do you think would be interested? I will say that I own a bike shop, and would profit a little from this development, though profit is far from my main drive. I love this bike, and I think that a joint development between bikers and uni riders would be critical to getting this right.

So here are the questions.

1. How many riders do you think would be interested in a new tire and rim combo?
  2. What are people’s biggest gripes about what is currently available?
  3. What distribution network would be the easiest to get these out to people? (IE, Unicycles.com or the like.)
  4. The tire would probably be a tread like WTB’s Nano Raptor or Weirwolf, something with bite but good rolling resistance. Would this be a tire good enough for the longer rides that 36er’s usual do?

Thanks for your responses, it’ll be a great help in determining the feasiblility of making this happen. Thanks again, cheers,

Ben