Need directions

Swing bikes are a gas and I guess it was sort of a natural progression to began to wonder about a Uni. As a hobby fabricator I was looking to make a Uni (yes I have a complete machine as my hobby/man cave and while I don’t work in the industry I am a school trained machinist and an average welder) but then after reading a bit it became apparent that I would be better off buying something to learn on and then perhaps consider a build. Now I am overwhelmed at the brands and options. What wheel size (if, as I assume that the numbers assigned to the bikes are wheel size) is better? Do bigger wheels roll easier like the newer large wheel mtn bikes? Are 36 spokes enough or do I need 48? Brand - advantages of one over the other? I am 54 years old, 74" tall and weigh 200 lbs. Some idea of where to start looking would be greatly appreciated.

Steve

Welcome Steve!

It all depends on what kind of riding you intend to do. If you are just starting out I’d recommend a 20" freestyle uni as most early skills lend themselves better to this size. As you progress and develop interests in other styles you can branch out into more specialized one wheelers.

If you were smaller I’d recommend a Torker CX or equivalent, but at your height and weight you’ll need something stronger. My recommendations would be a Torker LX or any 20" Nimbus model from unicycle.com. Make sure you get a seat post that is at least 300cm long or a longneck frame, otherwise the seat will be too low.

We need more “older” riders so welcome to the pool!

At your height I am going to say that a 24 might be more appropriate. I would add the Club unicycles at UDC to the Nimbus and Torker LX as decent learners to get on a budget.

You would probably crush a CX, sun, jugglebug, etc. Those unicycles are really designed for little kids to learn on.