My Stupid Clown Adventure

Ok! First some Backstory. This is from a post called “I think I commited a Uni-Sin”

OK! Now that that is out of the way. I got a letter with some pictures. So REJOICE and take part in my shame. I’m still not happy i did this and the poor quality of these pictures only matches the poor quality of my… soul… or someting. I’m not very good at artistic metaphor.

I Did get a nice note though.

Ooh! Here’s another

IMHO you would have been better off going all the way wearing face paint and a wig. Wearing just the clown suit looks weird.

Also, I don’t see anything wrong with riding a Uni in a clown suit. Though many people associate Clown/Unicycles I don’t think anything you did further perpetuated that idea. It already exists, and will always exist because riding a Uni makes a good visual for the Circus Performing Arts.

When people see you riding your Uni with a Helmet, Pads and a the tire is a Gazz, they can clearly see that this thing is built for a whole different purpose. As the sport grows the # of impressions people will have of Unicyclists as serious athletes will increase, and only that will slow down the questions like “Are you a clown?”

It’s okay, there was no clown in those pictures. Just a unicyclist wearing a “clown suit.” The one-piece clown suit like that is more of a haloween costume than a real clown “costume,” which is better done as a collection of mis-matched and exaggerated “regular” clothes. With no makeup, and (I’m guessing) no character, and especially no giant shoes, you were merely a human with a partial clown facade.

So rejoice! If you were ashamed by your choice of wardrobe, you can change that before your next performance. You were only a clown by the loosest interpretation of the word. For future shows, try wearing a suit & tie. You can even mix odd colors. Just not too odd, lest you find yourself sliding back toward the “clown vortex.”

bugman